Camp Otterdale is owned and directed by Jeff and Sue Brown. They reside in Perth, Ontario where they maintain the winter camp office. Susan and Jeff are parents of two sons, Evan and Joel.
Jeff has been involved in camping throughout his life. He began at Camp Kawabi where he developed from a young camper to a senior staff member. He also worked as the Program Director of Camp Kandalore and as the Assistant Director at Camp Otterdale before he and Susan took over as owner/directors in 1996. Jeff’s background includes experience as a school teacher in Saskatchewan and Ontario where he taught grades six through twelve. Jeff also served in the Canadian Navy as a Mars Officer and Clearance Diving Officer. He held a variety of positions at sea and served as the Officer-in-Command of a diving vessel and later as the Executive Officer at the Fleet Diving Unit (Pacific). During his final posting he worked as an Exchange Officer with the United States Navy in Indian Head, Maryland.
Sue is a Registered Nurse who has worked in the areas of Emergency, Cardiac Care, Psychiatry and most recently as a Private School Nurse. At Camp Otterdale she manages the camp office, oversees the Health Centre, and co-ordinates the food services.
Our goal is to provide a safe, exciting and inspirational camp experience for each Otterdale Camper.
This is our commitment to you.
Camp Otterdale has a large waterfront and about 200 acres of mixed forest and open fields. Camper cabins are nestled at the north end of camp along with a Health Centre, outhouses, showers, and the dining hall (Harrison Hall).
The biking trails and camp farm are located at the south end of camp among a forest of red pine.Camp Otterdale owns 23 acres across the bay from camp (for water-skiing ) and 110 acres adjacent to the camp for biking, hiking, camp-outs and maple syrup production
We water ski and wake board across the bay from the main waterfront. Throughout the camp property there are hiking and bike trails, camp-out sites and our sugar bush.
A visit to Heritage House includes a tour of 8 period rooms furnished to depict the lifestyle of the times. The Museum’s unique mirror-image facades, indoor brick bake oven and two-story privy preserve an atmosphere of the past in the once derelict house. Enjoy a picnic near our gardens or take a short stroll through parkland to the Rideau Canal and Old Sly’s Lockstation. Presented year round are changing exhibitions and art shows, a variety of special events, workshops and school and children’s programs. Also available are meeting space rentals, gift shop and a Victorian setting for wedding ceremonies and photographs.
See the website for admission rates and hours of operation.
Le Boat is the leading self-drive boating rental company, with more than 40 years’ of experience in the industry, operating its own fleet of 900 self-drive cruisers from a network of over 37 different departure bases across eight European countries. All boats feature fully equipped kitchens, comfortable furnishings, showers and bathrooms, and warm air heating. They also feature air-cooling, depending on the model. No experience or boating license is necessary. Instructions and an orientation are provided to first-time renters, ensuring they get the most out of their boating vacation. Unlike conventional cruises that follow a pre-planned itinerary, Le Boat provides guests with suggested itineraries, but allows them to visit the towns and attractions that most interest them on a particular route. For more information, call toll-free at 1-800-734-5491 or visit http://www.leboat.ca
The Railway Museum of Eastern Ontario is the premier hands-on railway museum in the region.
The museum is housed in the 1912 Canadian Northern Railway Station, a designated National Historic Site. Besides the station, our 11 acre site features a Roadmaster’s house, Flag Station and of course, lots of trains. Our collection includes a steam locomotive, deisel electric locomotive, boxcars, cabooses spanning 50 years, a dental car and our newest acquisition – a 1935 CN snowplow.
The museum is located in Smiths Falls and is operated by the Smiths Falls Railway Museum Corporation.
For hours of operation and admission rates, see the Railway Museum’s website at rmeo.org.
The historic 19th Century Woods Mill is an iconic stone structure in the Town of Smiths Falls. In addition to the Rideau Canal Museum, the mill has served as the headquarters for Parks Canada in Eastern Ontario.
Recently, Parks Canada assumed direction of the Rideau Canal Museum and has re-branded it as the Rideau Canal Visitor Information Centre. The evolution of this space is considered a natural next step as Parks Canada looks to establish a renewed approach to visitor services at the historic Woods Mill building.
The Smiths Falls and District Chamber of Commerce has witnessed many phases of development and change in our community. Throughout the years, the Chamber has continuously strived to help create a harmonious balance between tourism and merchant trade.
The Chamber actually began as the Smiths Falls Board of Trade in 1889. Hands written minutes from meetings in the 1920′s reveal a great deal of interesting history. Membership dues were $3.00 per year and the fees helped the Board of Trade to play a key role in fixing up the main market building in Town. At the urging of the local Council of Women, the Board even arranged for a civic restroom for women installed in the Market. In 1929, the Board of Trade became a corporation and from that point on, was called the Smiths Falls and District Chamber of Commerce.
The new Chamber dealt with a large variety of issues including signage, attracting industry to Town, beautification, and tourism among other topics. The social welfare of the community was an important concern for the Chamber. Housing became a key concern in the post war era and was noted on many occasions in the minutes. The Chamber played an active role in advocating for the Town Council to request, from the Wartime Housing Committee, an additional 75 houses to be built in the area for returning soldiers and their families. Minutes also refer to repeated donations of financial aid to causes such as the Salvation Army, the Welfare Association and the Red Cross to help provide meals to children in times of great need.
The Chamber fought for a number of issues that we take for granted these days. At one point the Directors lobbied the province to keep the highway between Smiths Falls and Carleton Place open by way of Franktown. Closing the road during the winter months was reported to have caused a great inconvenience to private and commercial traffic that had to travel through Perth. Chamber Directors also arranged for a speaker from the Wartime Prices Committee to speak at a gathering in Town Hall. The topic of discussion was to ensure that Smiths Falls residents and merchants understood the necessity for introducing special pricing initiatives.
The persistence of the Chamber to encourage economic development, improve trade and create a positive climate in the community has not waned. The current Chamber of Commerce continues to represent the membership at community meetings and advocates for a pro-business community wherever decisions and strategic plans for Town development are being made. We are eager to work with all levels of government for the betterment of the community by being “The Voice of Commerce” in Smiths Falls.
The voice of business in Smiths Falls since 1889.
The Smiths Falls & District Chamber of Commerce co-manages Victoria Park Campground with the Town. Reservations for the campground can be made through the Chamber in the off-season at 613-283-1334, or through the campground at 613-283-5112 in season.
Victoria Park was founded in 2012; Currently Gail Moore-Barrie manages the park during summer season. During winter season Victoria Park is managed by the Smiths Falls & District Chamber of Commerce with support from the Town of Smiths Falls Parks and Recreation Department. Their products include:
- Features, 50+ Serviced Camp Sites
- 30Amp Electric Hook-Ups
- Water Hook Ups
- Waterfront Sites Available
- 30 Boat tie-ups (finger docks)
- Playground & Wading Pool
- Pumping Station
- Laundry & Shower Facilities
- Daily, weekly And Seasonal Rates
*Terms & Conditions are listed on the back of your Reciept
*Check Out is @ 2:00 p.m.
Their mission is to ensure that all park patrons feel secure and enjoy themselves. With this in mind, we ask that the rules and regulations listed on our website will be adhered to at all times. Victoria Park is the perfect place to stay for a day, a week or a season. We’re just steps from downtown where restaurants, pubs, gift shops, museums, banks, festivals, theatres, farmers’ markets & shopping. Our play structures, walking paths, picnic areas, campground and boat docks are conveniently located alongside the beautiful Rideau Canal – Canada’s newest UNESCO World Heritage Site.
We are a community who engage throughout the season with events such as Celebration of the Lights. We celebrate the opening of our Canal and Railway festival with the campers all decoraing their trailer sites with lights. Each site is generously sized and maintained throughout the season.
Check out our facebook page and our website for more information!